Museum of South Texas History

Edinburg, Texas
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark

This stucco-covered brick building originally served as the Hidalgo County Jail with living quarters for the jailer on the first floor and iron cells for prisoners on the second. After 1925, the building became the Edinburg City Hall and was subsequently used as a fire station before being leased to the Museum of South Texas History. The building has a multitude of problems including rising damp that has destroyed much of the original interior plaster.
Volz & Associates prepared a Master Plan outlining the building's needs and establishing a phased restoration plan based on limited available funding. In 2008, the Museum completed the initial phase of work, including repair and replacement of the clay tile roof. The proposed future phases of work will fully restore the interior and exterior of the Museum and provide a memorable experience for visitors learning about the unique history of South Texas.

Key Issues
• Specify repair and replacement of original clay tile roof
• Develop specifications to remediate rising damp and resulting severe destruction of interior finishes
• Develop plans for replacement of outdated HVAC, electrical and plumbing systems
• Design museum display systems for improved interpretive program
• Develop solutions for life safety and accessibility issues

Museum of South Texas History_Historic Exterior

  • Museum of South Texas History Exterior
  • Museum of South Texas History Interior